5 star review for TOANWTS

5 stars from CDbaby
5 stars from CDbaby
5 stars from CDbaby

Indie distributer CDbaby just recently chose my new album The Owls Are Not What They Seem as their editor’s pick, gave it 5 stars and wrote this lovely review!

[quote] In 2008, Sweden’s Sofia Talvik put out an impressive album — Jonestown — which wowed me with its lush
orchestrations and catchy, melancholic 60’s-pop songs, tunes that wouldn’t have been out of place on any of Goldfrapp’s NON-disco albums. The following year, Talvik released an equally ambitious, subtly-searing album called Florida that was haunted by the ghosts of Dustbowl folk and countrified Southern Gothic. In 2011, the prolific indie-songstress put out 4 EPs that previewed remixed versions of songs that would end up on this year’s full length, The Owls Are Not What They Seem. The new record is a departure for sure — still catchy in its way, though the earworms have more room to sprawl— still lush, though the flute and string accompaniments are more restrained and the tremolo guitars serve only as punctuation. What’s different this time around? Mood: Owls is a slow-burning folk pop gem that wanders and searches as if dreaming itself into being. Think Nick Drake, Kings of Convenience, and Blue-era Joni Mitchell. Talvik’s voice can be both rich and whispery, and each breath seems to bend toward some hidden sadness, as if tugged by an undercurrent we can’t quite see; but we feel its force as the music unfolds, swirls, and closes around us.[/quote]

Chris R. CDbaby


Check it out here!

Florida – Playlist #9

Florida Playlist #9
Florida Playlist #9

Today’s daily playlist contains acoustic and remixed versions of some great tunes and artists ranging from Stone Temple Pilots to Miike Snow. Get it here: http://bit.ly/cCzXp8

And don’t forget to hit the like button on facebook.

Florida – Playlist#9

Sofia Talvik – You bring me back
The xx – Islands (Blue Nile remix)
Phoenix – Everything is everything (Acoustic exclusive live session)
Bat for Lashes – Pearls dream (Cenzo Townshend radio edit)
Radiohead – Creep (Acoustic)
MGMT –  Electric feel (Justice remix)
Stone Temple Pilots – Plush (Acoustic)
Miike Snow – Animal (Punks Jump Up remix)